Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Wise men have said that it is important to learn from history as it teaches us how to rectify our mistakes. While some people say studying history is a waste of time others consider it essential to learn. In my opinion, it is essential to study history as it provides vital information about our past which can help us to build a better future. In the below paragraphs I will discuss on this contentious topic and conclude with my opinion.

Firstly there is a section of people from our society who considers studying history as a waste of time. Although they consider history to be an irrelevant subject, however, they believe that it would be better not to waste time and their focus should be on subjects of science and technology can help the human race in progression. For instance, in most of the schools, today adolescents are taught a little about the history and more focus is laid on subjects like mathematics and science as modern inventions are made by juveniles who are either mathematicians or scientists.

Secondly, there are others who believe that studying history is essential as it acts as a source of knowledge where people can find more about their culture and how their country evolved. For instance, many people are interested to find about ancient Amazonian civilization thus history books provide them meaning insights of such cultures and their evolution. Additionally, history also provides deep insights on success and failure of mankind which helps human beings to learn and rectify the mistake in the future. For instance, environmental disasters have happened in the past in many countries thus humankind has taken lessons from history books and introduced some preventive measures which can help to improve the environment.

All things said it is evident from the above examples that learning from history is essential as it acts as a source of knowledge giving us meaningful insights about our cultural evolution. Additionally, it helps human to learn from their mistakes and improve them in future.