Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs To what extent do you agree

In recent years, there has been a growing trend of travelling to foreign countries around the world, thanks to globalization. Although many people argue that tourists should not be required to conform to the local customs and traditions when they make a journey aboard, plenty of evidence suggests that the opposite is necessary.

There are a number of reasons why following the community/native culture is beneficial to/ brings various benefits to themselves. First, people who visit another nation would be more welcomed by inhabitants in the host country, if they are willing to adapt to the local practices and conventions. As a result, foreigners will make friends more easily and they will be received help from the residents, which minimizes the difficulties of getting used to customs of other countries.Second, the travelling experience those visitors will gain from being a participant in the norms of social behavior is priceless in their life. Therefore, they can avoid any issues especially getting into trouble with the police occurring from violating the rules of destination countries. For example, my younger sister, a twelfth grades student, once told me that she not only was fined 200 dollars during her holiday in Singapore but also was arrested to the police station all day because she threw away rubbish by accident in the street.

It should be acknowledged that the local people would have a variety of advantages from tourists’ compliance with their culture. One of these advantages/benefits is that the citizens do not have to adjust their way of life, so they can preserve their cultural and historical monuments. It is an extremely important issue to contribute to the enduring development of human societies, in either economy or politics. In addition, by maintaining unique cultures and ancient traditions, the government will be able to attract more and more holidaymakers to visit the country, which brings advantages to not only those who run business in tourist industry but also the society as a whole as there will be more employment and money to encourage the progress of the region.

In conclusion, it is essential to obey the different culture when going to a foreign one as this benefits not only the tourists themselves but also the local residents in the host country.