Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered  they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

A company’s productivity mainly depends on the staff’s talents in different aspects. While some people think that when hiring people the company’s priority should be finding people who are creative and self-reliant, others argue that the skill to work in a team is more important. I believe both independence and teamwork are necessary skills for an employee.

To begin with, people who are innovative bring new ideas to their work and aid to the development of the institution they work in. Innovation is very crucial for the progress of the any organisation. A business group, for example, may not experience growth when they follow the same path for many years. An innovative and independent employee would be able to take decisions according to the situation and lead the company to success. Moreover, a person who is having many ideas tends to share his thoughts with the other colleagues and encourage them to be innovative.

On the other hand, according to some people, team work is more vital compared to the other skills. The reason behind this is that in their opinion, the employees have to complete their projects or tasks as a team. No one is actually taking individual decisions. In fact they are following instructions given by their managers. Sometimes individual decisions even cause clash among employees. Furthermore, they argue that in most cases, the freshly hired employees start as juniors. They do not immediately go to managerial positions that require them to make independent decisions. Majority of the decisions are taken by the senior staff. Therefore the quality of self reliance is irrelevant in most occasions.

To conclude, both the traits of independence and team work play different roles in the growth of the company. So in my opinion both these qualities are equally important for the success of an organisation.