Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

According to many reports, over recent past years, voluntary activities are becoming more and more popular, especially among youngsters and it is claimed by many people that youths should be engaged in these non-profit works which play a pivotal role in both personal and society development. Despite all possible benefits, these type of activities have some major concerns which, in my opinion, outnumber the advantages.

To begin with, it is undeniable that helping other people by young volunteers bring a new set of positive impacts. Young people are able to gain numerous real-life experience through these activities. For example, taking care of elderly people, which is one of the most popular work among volunteer, provide them with appropriate opportunities to listen their stories and also get valuable recommendation on either personal life or business. Furthermore, these activities create a sense of cohesion and unity among society. Spending time with needy people such people who suffer from an incurable dieses or deprived students will give the society a sense of unity and support. In long term, both citizens and society benefit from this balanced condition.

On the other hand, engaging in these type of works associated with some problems that are certain to arise. Firstly, young people who are supposed to concentrate on their education or set goals and put their efforts to achieve them, might be distracted from their schedule if they allocate too much time to voluntary works. They may not attend their classes and consequently, their academic performance will be impaired. This problematic situation would lead to second concern which is attributed to the whole society. Lack of skilled experts, probably, would be the first negative result. In long term, society will confront with shortage of either work force or proficient doctors. The pressure of this situation would be much more chronic and complex than lack of volunteers.

In conclusion, based on all aforementioned explanation, it seems all benefits of voluntary activities eclipsed by drawbacks and young people should place emphasis on the main priority of them that is obtaining qualification and higher education. Given this situation, a balanced schedule would be effective measure to address.