Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

Few people hold the idea that youngsters should render free services for the betterment of the society. personally I share the same views and state that the benefits of such services far outweigh its drawbacks. this essay will first demonstrate the advantages of volunteering work, followed by the analysis of primary disadvantage, and reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, volunteers have a very diverse and deep effect on the society. On the first hand, unpaid workers are the glue that hold the society together. In addition, it improves the social and economic health of the society, by raising educational performance of the youth, solving environmental problems, and responding to climate change. Secondly, unpaid work is a two-way street, as it benefits the individuals in the same way it benefits the society. For instance, helping needy people, without expecting any monetary provides individuals a sense of accomplishment and pride. Moreover, it helps combat depression, since social isolation is one of the main reason of this chronical disease. So when someone goes outside, for community services, he meets with different people sharing a common cause, thus it expands his social circle.

However, on the contrary, those who oppose this say that volunteering can be time-consuming. Although, it gives mental satisfaction, but this giving back strategy may cause you to neglect other important commitments of your life. However, I believe that giving free service improves your personality as an individual as well as it makes society a stronger, cohesive and safer place.

To conclude, I would restate that, pros of charitable work far outweigh its cons and should be promoted and appreciated.