Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is sometimes argued that the ultimate aim of advertising is to subtly persuade people to want or buy things which they do not really need, thus losing their self-esteem. personally, I share the same view with this argument. this essay will discuss this argument in the forthcoming paragraph, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationales to justify that advertisement discourages people by misleading them. On the first hand, advertisers use many underhand techniques, Viz. provocative pictures, and attention-grabbing words written on big posters to attract people to purchase the product or service, hence, this make people feel inferior of who they are and they start dreaming respected product. For instance, youngsters have started living an unhealthy lifestyle, just of the fact, that they want to be thinner or look like, so-called zero size celebrities, whom they saw in advertisements. Secondly, the image of glamour, power, and success associated with the product, creates an illusion in the mind of people, consequently, they take it a must-have product. Recently, a survey conducted by Oxford universitys' management department concluded that people are now less happy than they were 30 years back, despite being better off and having more money to spend on things.

however, on the contrary, those who oppose this state that, advertisement allows a person to differentiate between competing products and to remain up to date. For example, anyone, at leisure, by going through brochures and catalogues can come to a guided decision. however, I would say that the advertisement should not be such that it creates artificial wants among people. Rather than consumerism, companies should focus on social messages such as road safety, and hygiene.

To sum up, I will restate that advertisements distort people in many ways, by showing or giving false perceptions.