It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is sometimes argued that youngsters should give more emphasis on local history rather than history of the world. However, personally, I reckon that this view has flaws and therefore, cannot be considered acceptable. this essay will discuss both sides in the forthcoming paragraphs, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationale for giving more importance to global history. On the first hand, In contemporary days, the world is a global village, where it is need of the hour to be fully aware of the world, especially from a historical perspective. For Instance, studying the past of world, will give pupils a better understanding of, how certain things happen? and what are their consequences? and why certain rules and laws exist. to demonstrate, students will get to know, how depression and anxiety in the poor people of the past leads to 'social welfare programs'. In a similar vein, how, to vanish the colonial mindset, 'civil rights movements' started. Secondly, knowing world history will give young minds, moral understanding of the world, will expose to different cultures and will helps in breaking down prejudices one might have about others. this in a way, will give pupils a complete perspective of the whole world.

On the other hand, getting down to knowledge of local history, firstly, it will introduce the youth to the national, great leaders and heroes of the time. Besides, it will make them informed citizens, as they come to know the, then and now, past economics trends, and cultural heritage. Thus making them aware citizens. therefore some people believe that local history should be given more importance. Yet this is not something you can only rely on in the present-day world.

To summarise, I am inclined to restate that, having knowledge of world history will sharpen the mind of youngsters.