It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no deny that right education is paramount to all kids. While some people argue that educational institutions for teenagers should focus more on local history than world history, I would argue that both of them are equally important. In this essay I will put forward my views why I believe in learning about both type of histories.

First of all, yes knowing about own country's history is crucial for all the citizens of a country or a region. In addition, been educated on the heritage of oneself can help anyone to understand extensively about themselves also. Many nations have history of begin ruled by foreign invaders. For instance, India was under the rule of the Britishers till 1947 and hence forth educating young minds about their country's struggle, freedom fighter movement will up-rise the feeling of pride and patriotism in them. Also, each country has plethora of cultures and traditions which have shaped it into what it is as of today. Hence, I believe that having knowledge on local history is necessity and should be part of education curriculum.

On the other hand, today is an era of globalization, with the use of modern technologies, places and countries are closer than ever before. Students in the future have to work and collaborate with people of all ethnic groups and origin. So, having knowledge about the myriad of countries and their ancestral history will help them better understand, work and prosper in today's time. Hence, I believe students should be taught about other country's history in schools.

In conclusion, knowledge is important for any children if they want to prosper in today's time. I believe educating them on all aspects whether global or local are necessity for school children.