Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Nowadays the issue of animals in captivity has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend will cause some problems, the advantages will be far more significant.

On the one hand, there are a whole hosts of explanations against keeping animals in cages. First, since wild animals are confined in a limited environment, depriving of their physical and mental stimulation is unavoidable. In fact, zoos fail to provide adequate spaces for them to perform their movement habits, which comes at the expense of suffering from boredom, stressful and downright situations. Second, by forcing animals to learn tricks for the sake of financial purposes, it is transparently undeniable that lifespan of those animals could be shortened. For example, elephants are still being used to play volleyball with a view to entertaining audiences and visitors, which is detrimentally prone to sudden trauma and then leads to species degradation.

On the other hand, wilderness areas are of merits in terms of their security and education. First, without zoos, such animals are potentially on the brink of extinction. In fact, zoos bringing endanger species in a secure environment protect them from poachers, predators and human’s exploitation, thus resulting in saving and preserving them to the extent. Second, in order to gain a wealth of knowledge, zoos are offered to have more opportunities to observe and learn animals’ instincts and behaviors. For example, scientists find it touchable to conduct surveys in replacement of direct exposure, which successfully facilitates for breeding programs now and down the road.

In conclusion, the founding of zoos to keep animals will have two sides. By eliminating the economic objectives and considering the pros and cons, these places would be perfect shelters for wild animals to develop and rise in their breed.