Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in towns and cities leaving old people behind in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve the issue?

Many young people are settling down in cities and towns and leaving behind their elderly people in rural areas. This trend is creating various problems such as crowded urban centers and making rural areas non-functional. Fortunately, this growing trend can be handled if village areas become as developed as city areas.

In order to seek higher education and better employment, young people are moving to urban areas. This phenomena generates pressure on urban centers, for instance, load of traffic increases on the roads. As more people means more movements around or within the city. With the increase in urban population, either naturally or through migration, demand of housing also accelerates. This results into mushroom growth of slums which damages the city not only aesthetically but also physically. In addition, rural areas become non-functional due to absence of young energetic work force. Unlike young people, elderly people cannot run shops, markets and Agri-based activities oriented in countryside areas. As as result, these areas are becoming more or less like paralyzed parts having no contribution towards economic growth.

However, identification of this growing trend is crucial. As per the research conducted by Canadian Social Organization, improving quality of life by availing urban facilities is a major motive of young people of moving from rural to urban areas. As long as rural areas are not fully developed with facilities, for instance, higher educational institutions, medical facilities, markets, industries and many more, young professionals will keep shifting to cities. If they are provided with these facilities and employment opportunity, they will not leave their home towns and elderly people easily. Therefore, it is the high time for concerned authorities to look into this and allocate development funds to countryside areas. This can create a great deal of change in urbanization.

To conclude, owing to lack of facilities and opportunities in suburb areas, rate of urbanization is ascending. Due to this situation, young people are preferring to live in cities rather than in their rural home towns. By developing countryside areas, this problem can be eradicated.