In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. What is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Since the inception of civilization, human being has been dependent on agriculture as it provides food, and for that reason, mankind devotes significant resources to develop the process of farming. In recent time, there is substantial progress has been observed in this aspect, but still, a major portion of people around the world remain starving. From my point of view, the faulty market mechanism is responsible for this issue and could be solved by the co-operation of the related parties.

Basically, the food market is comprised of the farmer- the initial producer and buyer, albeit international bodies, local government, intermediaries and some other beneficial groups disrupt and manipulate the market for their gain. As a result, the primary seller, who works day and night to grow crops, does not receive proper benefit, whereas end-consumers have to pay the extra price to purchase food. For example, in many developing countries, farmers very often go on protest for not getting enough money necessary to lead their life, while a lion share of the population in those countries observe famine-like situation because of the high price of food. Thus, dysfunctional market operation, reflected in the supply chain process, is the pivotal reason for this circumstance.

Interruption of the external forces to the market should be erased significantly, not only in the local arena but also on the global scale to free the world from hunger. Furthermore, all the countries should come with each other and co-operate in this subject by moderately ignoring their benefits. For instance, few countries like the USA are known for massive growth and surplus of wheat, which can easily be exported to the countries experiencing famine, rather than wasting it to make the price of the crop higher in the global market. Therefore, stakeholders, if they will, can resolve the conundrum of food shortage.

To conclude, the existing problematic structure of the market has always been looming before us, but we have not been able to address it notably while the solution might not be any behemoth task to do.