Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished To what extent do you agree or disagree Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Each year, with the increasing competition in schools, each student is compelled to perform outstanding. As a matter of choice, some people believe that rewarding students really help in performance improvement whereas other people think that punishment makes a student well-performed in school. This essay will showcase both the viewpoints with constructive arguments to aid readers come to their own conclusion.

To initiate, rewarding not just students but anyone in life helps them grow mentally. Whenever someone is rewarded, it brings the positive effect on that person to do better in life. For instance, if we appreciate a child for his dancing, there is possibly more chance that the child will be motivated and practice dance daily to achieve perfection. Not only it helps in inspiring the child, but it also helps him deal with the failure. If we reward a student even if he is unable to succeed in something, it will help him to bear that pain of not being successful. For example, whenever parents reward their children even if they did not get fascinating marks in exams, it helps them deal with the anguish they are going through and make them feel better.

Notwithstanding with the above salient features of rewarding, there comes another way of learning which is punishment. If we punish a child for his mistakes, it will make him understand that this scenario should not be on the loop. For example, if a child broke his cycle, his parents should give him the punishment of repairing thee cycle by himself so that he should be aware of its consequences in the future. Additionally, he will learn a new skill of repairing. Another factor that warrants favoring punishment is the fear that child gets while committing a mistake. Many times it has been observed that students specially teenagers have the fear in mind that they will be terminated from school if they harass any other student in the school

By and large, there should be a balance between rewarding and constructive punishment in order to make a student's school life progressive. Excessive of anything can be detrimental for students. Therefore, one should keep in mind the circumstance and the child need at that point in time.