Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what
extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural
development of your society?
It has been around forty years since television was first introduced into Australian households
and people today still have mixed views on whether it has a positive or a negative influence on
the society.
Many people believe that television damages culture. It promotes the stronger cultures of
countries such as Britain and North America and weakens the cultures of less wealthy countries.
This is because the stronger, wealthier countries are able to assert their own culture by
producing more programs that are shown widely around the world. These programs then
influence people, particularly young people, in the countries where they are shown.
Also, because television networks need to attract large audiences to secure their financial
survival, they must produce programs which are interesting to a broad range of people. In
Australia this range is very broad because we are a multicultural society and people of all ages
like to watch television. To interest all these different people, most television programs are short
in length, full of action and excitement, do not require much intelligence or knowledge to
understand, and follow universal themes common to all cultures, such as love and crime.
Television programs which concentrate on or develop themes pertinent to one particular culture
are not so successful because they interest a smaller audience.
Nevertheless we much acknowledge that television does have some positive effects on the
cultures within a society as well. People who do not live within their own culture can, in a limited
way, access it through the multicultural station on the television. For example, Aboriginal
children who have grown up in white families, or migrants and international students living in
Australia, can watch programs from their own culture on the television.
In conclusion, I hold the view that television promotes and strengthens those cultures that are
wealthy and influential while it weakens the cultures that are already in a weakened position.