There is an increase in noise in our daily lives nowadays. Why is this a problem? What can be done to reduce it?

Today, people are encountering an increasing amount of noise on a daily basis. Several issues associated with this development have occurred. This essay will examine why the increase of annoying sounds brings detrimental impacts and propose solutions to improve noise pollution.

The first reason why loud noise is a big problem is that it distracts people from concentrating on their works and routine activities. As workers cannot fully focus on their tasks due to disturbance from noise, they will not be able to complete their jobs effectively. This, then, leads to low working productivity. For example, my accountant friend who is bearing the noise of subway trains every day can only finish his summarized calculation on the following workday. As for daily routines, loud noise makes people feel unpleasant in doing what they love.

Another reason is that noise can detrimentally affect people’s health. Medical research indicates that frequent exposure to loud and unstable sound can damage the entire hearing system in the long term. Danang, a developing city which produces a massive amount of noise due to the outbreak of industrial factories, has over 30 percent of its residents with hearing issues.

However, there are viable measures to tackle the current noise pollution. The authority can impose strict rules and penalties on industrial noises. The governmental regulations will force companies to establish a noise-reduction system to their production process, which means sounds from heavy machines will be vastly muzzled. In addition, car manufacturers can integrate new technology to their engine making them quieter when operating.

In conclusion, the increase of unpleasant sound nowadays is a big problem for everyone. Nevertheless, some actions from the government and enterprises when taken into account can ease up noise pollution.