These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time.

Explain why you think this change has happened.

What are the effects of this change in attitude?

My mother’s generation had many skills that young people lack today. In the past people could mend clothes, sew on buttons and fix a broken tap, but this ¡s not true of current generations who tend to replace rather than repair. This essay will discuss why these changes have occurred and what effects this is having.

Today fashion changes quickly, but in the past ¡t changed slowly. Clothing and furniture for example would last for many years; even generations. However, these days with pervasive advertising and communication via social media, information about new items travels quickly and we tend to throw out the old to buy the new. Another reason that fashions change is that manufacturers are motivated to make goods that don’t last very long. For example cars today are built to last five to ten years. whereas in the past cars would last much longer. By having early obsolescence manufacturers can sell more goods.

This change in attitude has deskilled the public and is damaging our environment. We have lost both the skills and the will to maintain our possessions. In fact often we see it as exciting to make new purchases. Another change is that we now create more negative environmental impact because many of the goods we buy and throw out are not biodegradable. We have become a generation of consumers and we are damaging the environment. This is a huge change from the past.

In conclusion, today we tend to buy new items rather than repair older possessions. In the process most of us have lost the skills and the desire to repair older items and further consequences is that we are damaging our environment due to excess waste products.