Today , the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Marketing plays an important part in the selling of products among masses. Humongous sales are often associated with the effective campaigning rather than the actual requirements of the end user and I completely agree with this notion.

To begin with, huge investments are attributed to the promotions even before the actual launch of product in the market. An organization is mainly driven by the profit motive and to strive for, these companies endorse celebrities for promoting their product so that, it reaches wider part of society. For example, fair and lovely is a highly sold brand in cosmetics category, as it is being endorsed by famous cricketers having fan following all over the world, thereby resulting in high purchasing. Hence, excellent revenues are directly proportional to success of discussed campaigns.

Secondly, as a part of cost cutting initiative, corporates tend to spend less on research involving the actual needs of the customer. In other words, doing detailed analysis on the exact requirements of people is time-consuming and tedious process. And, it also needs some investment of currency, which when done could deter the margins of the firm. Consequently, these tasks are curbed and citizens end up in buying a wrong product having inappropriate ingredients. On the other hand, firms investing huge money in understanding the real needs have very little left for advertising and as a result, their presence is not seen in majority of homes.

In conclusion, without adequate media channels in place, an item will always be available in the warehouse and with efficient broadcasting, it could reach out to large sections of society. However, if more time is spent on getting the real requirements, sales would decline drastically.