Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is true that advertising manipulate people to buy more through this powerful market strategy. Although it gives companies the chance to introduce their new products and services to the customers, it targets people budget to buy unnecessary things.

Advertising is the key part in business market and it gives consumers the chance to know about their choices. In addition, the number of employment in this field is increased dramatically in recent years so it brought lots of job opportunities for individuals. Besides, advertisements are funny, artistic and thought- provoking and the contemporary artists know it as a modern art. Moreover, advertising industry brings a significant increase in the number of sold products across the world, since people get to know about international products and can access them easily. To prove my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, reveals that Nike Company could increase its sales up to 60% by adding international advertisements in their plans.

On the other hand, there are some negative points that are brought to different societies by advertisements. Firstly, children can be easily influenced by the advertisements and as a result they put pressure on their parents by pestering or nagging. Secondly, Advertisers try to convince us that buy things bring happiness in our lives and they persuade us to follow the latest fashions and trends. A research having been done in the Britain, shows that in 2015 over 70% of residents buy things that were not essential for them.

To sums up, Advertisements should be controlled and regulated by the governments in detail and those that targeted children should be banned. This way both group, companies and consumers, will benefit advertisements.