Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today most of the purchases are based on the adverts we see. Therefore, most of the purchases have become impulsive rather than a need. I completely agree that 75% of purchases that are made today is because of the advertisements.

Firstly, most of the consumer products that are advertised today are linked with technology. In the mobile phone segment, most of the competitors have similar features, but still they advertise and display that as a unique feature and trap individuals. For example, I owned a Google Pixel mobile with Facial recognition technology, and Apple recently launched a mobile with similar feature and named as 3D facial recognition plus, stating this is only mobile to use this technology. In fact, after a few researches I found that both the technology is same and developed by same company for both Google and Apple. This is the power of advertisement they pull customers by using such marketing tricks and sell products.

Secondly, there are very few adverts that display genuine quality of their products. Most of them don’t provide full details of their goods and may mislead also. Only after using the product we get to know the defects of the product and it's too late by then as we already purchased them. For example, a latest smartphone that advertised that this is the best mobile in the market today started exploding in people’s hand. Believing the advert many of them bought the products and eventually it turned out to be a life threatening device.

To conclude, advertisements show only the good side of the products. Purchasing products by just seeing them will sometime lead to wrong decision. It always better to hear the reviews about a product as word of mouth is the best advertisement.