Today it is common practice for many business meetings and business training to take place online.

Do the advantages of this new development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing trend of online business meetings and training is observed in many places. This essay will argue that the benefits of this development certainly prevail over the drawbacks.

Online sessions for the business purpose usually involve a little expenditure in terms of logistics support. Since attendees of a meeting or training session can easily serve their purpose while attending the session virtually, companies no longer require to bear the costs of expensive flight tickets and hotels. For example, after mainstreaming online meetings from the last year, Google facilitated more than 1,500 online conferences for its’ staffs. At the end of the year, they reported a 20% reduction of their expenditure related to meetings and training.

A possible disadvantage that can exist is that sometimes online sessions might not be adequately effective for the participants due to their lack of attention. Although participants can visualize everything that is being discussed, sometimes they might find it difficult to concentrate. As a result, sometimes meeting agendas can remain unresolved, and training can be ineffective. A recent survey claimed that participants can hardly remember more than 50% of the skills learned in an online training, whereas the retention rate is much higher for a face-to-face session.

In conclusion, the advantages of online business sessions largely outweigh the drawbacks since they are very much cost-efficient to organise. Although there remains an issue regarding people’s attention, companies could generate ideas to alleviate the problem. In the coming days, it is expected that the necessity of online meetings will be even more.