Today, it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

It is true that multigenerational workplaces have become the norm in recent years. Despite their apparent disadvantages stemming from generational gaps, I believe that the advantages of this trend outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why it is difficult to work in a multigenerational company. One primary reason is that since people from different age groups typically have different mindsets, it may be challenging to collaborate with a colleague who is at another stage of life. This issue might cause some conflicts within a team decision-making process. For example, young professionals tend to act quickly to seize the opportunities instead of deliberately think about the situation as senior employees do. Another reason is that experienced peers could discriminate trainees who are inexperienced. This results in unhealthy behaviors within the company, and it hinders the productivity of their team.

Nevertheless, honoring diversity in workplaces brings several gains for companies. Firstly, a diverse working group can observe a situation at multiple perspectives, which leads to meaningful discussions and solutions. In contrast, if all team members are at the same age, they might not realize the critical opinions of other age groups. Secondly, by maintaining employees of different ages, such companies can ensure a healthy talent and management pipeline at all levels and positions. Senior employees may mentor younger ones in order to develop their leadership skills, and managers are able to identify future leaders from such internal potential candidates. Finally, the companies will bring the best out of their people when they maintain harmony between professionals of all age groups within their workforce.

In conclusion, people should embrace the multi generations mix in today’s workplace because its benefits shadow the drawbacks mentioned above.