Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Development of a country’s infrastructure and transportation facility is utterly important for the overall progress of the nation. Railways and road transports are used by a vast majority and hence have a great importance but which one should get priority is controversial. I believe whether a government needs to focus on strengthening its road or railways should be based on its geographic location, population distribution, economic strength and demand.

To begin with, locomotives for commuting is prefered by many and can carry far more commuters and goods at a time than road carriers. Hence, it is thought to be a better alternative to the existing road transportations- which often kill valuable time due to traffic congestion. I think export-oriented countries with a large population should improve their railways.

However, building and maintaining railways and importing new trains are expensive. Poor countries cannot support locomotives as their main transportation system and heavily rely on road transports. It is true that countries like Japan and Russia have an extensive rail system and have been greatly facilitated by their policy but not all countries can implement it. On top of that, rich nations, where citizens mostly drive their own cars, have more urgency to develop their road transports.

Looking further, geographic locations should be considered to build railways as not all countries have vast high lands. For example, Italy has an improved water transportation facility and the authority should focus more on that.

To conclude, improving railways or roads is not a luxury and should be determined based on criteria like topographical features of a country, its economic strength, people’s need, trade arrangement and so on to assist the overall national progress.