To reverse the deterioration of postal service, the government should raise the price of postage stamps. This solution will no doubt prove effective, since the price increase will generate larger revenues and will also reduce the volume of mail, thereby eliminating the strain on the existing system and contributing to improved morale.

The author concludes that to minimize the deterioration of postal service, the increase in postal stamps will be an effective measure. To support his conclusion, the author says that increase in price will reduce the volume of mails and eventually reduce the load on postal department that will help the department to work effectively. Although the argument has a few merits, because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language make the argument unsubstantiated. Hence, deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author believes that deterioration of postal service is due to two reason - less price of the postal stamps and large volume of mails. However, author has failed to provide any evidence that only these two are the main reason for deterioration of postal service. There are several reasons that are not explored by the author. For instance, the working staff's salary and availability of work force, poor infrastructure of department may be the reasons for the deterioration. Without any sufficient evidence, it is hard to digest that increase in postal stamp will resolve the issue.

Secondly, the author also assumes that increase in postal stamps will reduce volume of mail. However, author has not given any evidence that decrease in volume will definitely happen after increase in postal rate. Moreover, author has not mentioned the rate of increase of price. For example, 1% increase in postal stamp of Rs. 2 will hardly make any sense for the customers. Therefore, had the author presented the argument with facts and figures, the argument could have been strengthened.

Lastly, the author says that increase in price will lead to volume reduction and will enhance the moral of the postal service team as the revenue of the department will increase. Nevertheless, author has not shown any direct relation with moral and revenue increase. Government may use this increased revenue in some other project instead using on postal department. If author can show some direct benefit to the postal department with increase in revenue, the argument would be stronger.

To conclude, although author presents interesting argument, due to various flaws mentioned above makes the argument less persuasive and deeply flawed. The author could have strengthen his position if he provides the supporting facts mentioned above.