“To reverse the deterioration of the postal service, the government should raise the price of postage stamps. This solution will no doubt prove effective, since the price increase will generate larger revenues and will also reduce the volume of mail, thereby eliminating the strain on the existing system and contributing to improved morale.”

The opinion mentioned above contains several critical assumptions which leads it to be a flawed statement. It claims that by increasing the price of the postage stamp, the postal service will generate greater revenue and the volume of mail would be reduced without providing any substantial evidence.

Firstly, it is mentioned that by increasing the price of the postage stamp will generate larger revenue. However the opinion fails to provide enough evidence to support this claim. Moreover, it is important to analyse the negative consequence of increasing the postage stamp. It is also vital to study how much of revenue is presently being generated by postal service because of the sale of postage stamp. By studying the revenue that postage stamp brings in, the argument can be strengthened.

Secondly, the opinion fails to analyse what is causing the deterioration in the first place. There could be a posibility where customers have different technological alternatives to postal service. Apart from the technological alternative, the efficiency and the customer service of the postal service could also be other factors which may affect the quality postal service. By focusing on why the deterioration is happening in the first place, postal service can then come up with strategies to revitalise it again.

The opinion also predicts that by increasing the price of postage stamp, the postal service could reduce the volume of mail which will eliminate the strain on existing system and contribute to improve morale. Once again the opinion fails to provide any evidence to back up the claim. Also it fails to consider other ways by which the current existing system could be made more efficient. It could be argued that by investing on the current system to accomodate for more mail volume, the postal service could generate more revenue as compared to sale of postage stamp. Also there is no proper corelation is given to suggest that the morale would be improved by reducing the volume of mail.

Due to unwarranted assumptions and claims, the opinion fails to provide a strong argument. By analysing the above mentioned points and by providing more evidence to support its claims, the argument could be strengthened.