The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery:

“The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

There are several unwarranted assumptions made in the above paragraph which attenuate the argument the paragraph is trying to make. One of the primary fallacy is that the directors trying to compare different aspect of the business to the falling revenues without providing any palpable evidence.

Firstly, the statement says that falling revenue is due in parts to delays in manufacturing and due to poor planning in purchasing the metals. However, the statement fails to give evidence to support its claims. Without knowing how purchasing of metals and delays in manufacturing affect revenue, and without evaluating its correlation, it cannot be determined that revenue is falling due to the delays in manufacturing and purchasing of metals. It is also vital to check other factors which may affect the revenue such as cost of production, and the demand for its product. The delays in manufacturing could also be attributed to the efficiency of the machinery used, so it is necessary to look at the efficiency of the machinery used to analyze the delays in manufacturing.

The statement boldly state that a manager who has excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology should be moved to sales. However it has not provided the reasoning to support its claim. It also fails to mention the problems that this manager faced while being responsible for purchasing department. It is critical to know this fact to check whether moving the manager to a different department is the correct move.

The other vague assumption that the statement makes is by bringing in scientist from the research division to be the manager of the purchasing department the revenue would go up. The statement does not provide any evidence as to how the change would impact the revenue. Even if one assumes that the change in manager would trigger proper metal purchase planning, what is the guarantee that the manufacturing process will be expedited because of the change. It is important to analyze how the relation between purchasing and manufacturing in order to come to a formidable conclusion.

The above statement makes these several unwarranted assumption which leads it to be a flawed statement. By examining the factors as discussed above, the statement could be strengthened.