The following appeared in a memorandum from the director of research and development at Ready-to-Ware, a software engineering firm.

The package of benefits and incentives that Ready-to-Ware offers to professional staff is too costly. Our quarterly profits have declined since the package was introduced two years ago, at the time of our incorporation. Moreover, the package had little positive effect, as we have had only marginal success in recruiting and training high-quality professional staff. To become more profitable again, Ready-to-Ware should, therefore, offer the reduced benefits package that was in place two years ago and use the savings to fund our current research and development initiatives.

The conclusion derived by the firm in relation to its quarterly performance is limited and short sighted. The argument mentioned in the above paragraph only discuss about the package of benefits and incentives that is being offered while ignoring other factors which may contribute to the poor quarterly performance.

Primarily, the argument does not take into consideration how well their sales has performed in the quarters following their incorporation. By analyzing the sales, the firm can gauge whether or not the company is bringing in more business, which in turn will provide more evidence into how well the professional staffs are performing and whether or not the package of benefits and incentives is reasonable. It is also important to analyze whether the firm is using the right methodology for recruiting new hires. The paragraph does not mention what were the strategies used in order to search for new hires, and it also fails to mention what were the qualification criteria for employment. By hiring staff members who does not meet eligibility criteria, the firm will not see any positive outcome. It is also vital to look into the market needs and how well the firm has adopted itself to the changing environment since incorporation. If the firm fails to adopt to the changing environment,

the quarterly profits can still go down which will be irrelevant to the package of benefits and incentives. The argument fails to mention how it will be profitable by reducing the benefits package.

Because the argument leaves out several key factors which will influence the quarterly profits, it is inconclusive that benefits package is affecting the firm’s quarterly profits. The argument can be substantiated if the above mentioned points are taken into consideration.