The following is an excerpt from a memo written by the head of a governmental department:

“Neither stronger ethics regulations nor stronger enforcement mechanisms are necessary to ensure ethical behavior by companies doing business with this department. We already have a code of ethics that companies doing business with this department are urged to abide by, and virtually all of these companies have agreed to follow it. We also know that the code is relevant to the current business environment because it was approved within the last year, and in direct response to specific violations committed by companies with which we were then working—not in abstract anticipation of potential violations, as so many such codes are.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The following argument is critically flawed as it contains several fallacies. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that by only having code of ethics and ignoring stronger regulations and stronger enforcement mechanisms, the department would succeed in enforcing ethical behaviors for companies that deals with the department.

Firstly, the department assumes that the companies that say that they would agree to abide by the code of ethics would actually follow through with their promise. It is crucial that the department should look into the past to study whether the companies that they deal with has kept their promises on earlier codes enacted. Even if the past proves to validate the claim that the companies does follow through with their promises, it does not automatically guaranty that they could continue to do so. It will also benefit the department to analyze the benefits and drawbacks on implementing stronger regulations and stronger enforcement mechanisms such that it will help the department make an educated judgement.

Secondly, it is argued that the code was drafted recently as a response to a specific violation committed by companies with which they are working. The statement blatantly assumes that a code written for a specific violation will cover the entire subject of ethical behaviors. Moreover, it will benefit the department to study the rate at which the code should be revised, as the business environment adapts to changing circumstances.

Finally, it is argued that drafting regulations in anticipation of potential violations are counterproductive. However, there is no evidence to support the claim. Conversely, if the department had provided statistical evidence to support the above mentioned claim, the statement could be warranted. It could be argued that foreseeing potential violations would aid in combating violations in relation to ethical behaviors.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide adequate evidence to support its claim and rendering its conclusion void of merit.