The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery:“The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays

The argument claims that the company should assign a scientist to be manager of the purchasing department as the revenue of the company is falling. This factor according to the author is caused by delays in manufacturing. While detains are triggered by poor planning in purchasing metal which in turn might be related with absence of knowledge of manager in the properties of metal. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First of all, the author makes allegation when correspond the falling of revenue and delays in manufacturing. In order to trace the pattern it should be given analyses or example to confirm this suggestion made by author. What if there are other reasons why revenue is falling and factors which influence on this decrease. It is good known from business analysis which aspects can trigger the drop of income. For example, what if consumers concern of quality of product or consider that the prices are costly and as a result many clients are turning to its competitors. The argument could have been much clear if the author had provided an analysis of dependence revenue of delays in manufacturing.

Second, the memo states that the delays in manufacturing are related with poor planning in purchasing metal. However, the author doesn’t explain why lack of planning influence on detains, which factor witnesses about this suggestion? Furthermore, this issue might be the result of declining market conditions or problems in logistics of the delivery. If the argument had allowed more detail factors of coincidence of poor planning and delays in manufacturing then it would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the idea that a scientist who change the manager of the purchasing department can modifier the circumstances for the better way cannot be considered as panacea. To put it another way if to compare a competences of manager of purchasing department and scientist, it cannot be denied that the manager posses more knowledge in business than scientist. While manager has to acquire lore in one sphere (the properties of metal) the scientist must be taught in three which is key factors in sphere of purchasing. Consequently to assign a scientist for the position of manager might cause of addition issue for company.

In conclusion, the argument is weak because of above mentioned reasons and is therefore flawed. It could be considerably strengthened if author mentioned all of the relevant facts. In order to estimate the validity of an argument it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors. Without this information, the argument is un-substantiated and open to debate.