The following appeared as part of an annual report sent to stockholders by Olympic Foods, a processor of frozenfoods:“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they becomemore efficient. In color

The argument claims that Olympic Foods will be able to minimize their costs and maximize profits because in color film processing the cost of print fell in the fullness of time. Furthermore it can be related with the principle applies to the processing of food and with others industries. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First of all, the author makes an allegation when correlates two different business from the one hand film processing on the other hand food processing. However, it can not be denied that costs of food processing don’t involve the same components which apply in film processing. For instance, it is known that frozen products require special equipments, proper storage and logistic transportation in order to keep them fresh. These components can require significant costs and there are probability that these products may not to pay off. In comparison with film industry, where costs on movie production are formed in another way. The argument could have been much clearer if the author had analyzed this two sphere more deeply.

Secondly, the author states that due to long experience of the company there is expectation of minimize costs and maximize profits. Nevertheless, it is not explained how knowledge and background of company relate with such factors as costs and profits. Factors such as demand on products, the general situation on frozen food market and prices of food should also be taken in consideration. It must not forget that there are other players on this market which can set prices more loyal for buyers and Olympic Foods will not be pursued despite their long stay on this business. If the argument had provided more detail analysis of frozen food market then it would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the memo doesn’t explain which methods use management of Olympic Food to cut costs and increase profit at present days. What if management and employees of company work inefficient and it more influences on company than other reasons.

In conclusion, the argument is weak because of above mentioned reasons and is therefore flawed. It could be considerably strengthened if author mentioned all of the relevant facts. In order to estimate the validity of an argument it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors. Without this information, the argument is un-substantiated and open to debate.