A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that nowadays personal characteristic such as honor, kindness and trust are valued less than it would be earlier. Instead of this people are became to asses by their position in society and wealth. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, there were always people who believe that social status and material possession is a key factor to judge a person especially in our days. For instance, the majority of businessman and sports stars are valued firstly for their success, which is expressed in social position, richness and their power. It happens because nowadays it is imposed on society that success is an acquisition of material values and each person should aspire to this. Another factor which cannot be denied that for many people position in society and wealth are recognized as indicator of diligent and hard work. And people, who have toiled during their live and achieved heights, worthy of respect.

By contrast, for many people, myself included, it is sad to see that we exist in the world where society forgot about key values of person and try to replace with others. The five decades ago our ancestors still believe in honor, kindness and trust and human role was higher than now. And, it is not right indicator to assess person because behind the success might be hidden all negative aspects of person such as betrayal, theft or selfishness.

Overall, there is no doubt that the value in judging one's worth has been differentiated from the past when people emphasize more on consumer products and follow the new social standards