Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is said that there are many public institutions which should be invested by administration than spending money on the arts. However there are two view points on this score and I try to explain them in my essay.

There are many reasons why art should be funded by government. Firstly, art brings a lot of benefits to society including educational capital, cultural heritage and influence in better way on other public institutions. Supporting of art allows to evolve intellectual components of society. For instance, art affect the educational assets that can expend imagination and visual literacy in children due to this critical thinking, communication and innovations skills are developed, which are key aspects in 21st century. Also, encouragement of arts by grants enables to protect cultural legacies that makes culture of country unique and allows to safe traditions along to future generations.

But from the other side there are more important public institutions which should be invested by government such as healthcare, market and justice system. It is considered that arts don’t bring an advantage to society and many people do not want to pay taxes in this field because this is not an appropriate. Furthermore, art is deemed should be funded by private organizations not government. For instance, at the same time there are many controversial art installations which are impenetrable and unnecessary to society but many investors who are able to value it, can capitalize their investment.

Overall, this issue is very complicated and debatable but I suggest if government does not fund art, than cultural educational level in public will decrease.