Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is argued that spending money on the arts by the government is not prolific for a nation, and they could be used on other developments. While I accept that other developments are essential for a society, I completely disagree with the idea that the government should stop funding on the arts for them.

People will lead a happy life if the government help them to reduce the health risk and stress from their lifestyle. The various developments such as medical research, infrastructure could ensure their quality of life. For instance, In Bangladesh, the maternal mortality rates has dropped by 49% within a decade because of the government measuring steps on medical sectors. This could mitigate the childbirth related complications for a nation. In addition, the comfortable and congestion free transport systems could reduce our daily life hassle, and helps us to get work-life balance.

However, I would argue that the government should not eliminate their budgets from the arts for the above developments. Arts have a mythological value. They can express our traditions, cultures by paintings, sculptures, and monuments which are the evidence of civilization. A recent documentary on BBC shows that many ancient inscriptions contain the proof of extraterrestrial activities on our primitive structures which could define the way of their surviving on MARS or other planets. Hence, we might find our new home on other planets. In addition, practicing the arts such as music, paintings could enhance our children’s creativity because they have to use their imagination to perform and interpret them.

In conclusion, though the potential benefits of other developments are significant, I do not believe that the government should remove the financial support from the arts for these progresses.