The following appeared as part of an article in a magazine devoted to regional life:“Corporations should look to the city of Helios when seeking new business opportunitiesor a new location. Even in the recent recession, Helios’s unemployment rate was

The argument claims that Helios is a beneficial region for corporations which pursue to find new business opportunities or a new location. This statement is based on factors such as its rate of unemployment is lower than average and it is the industrial center of the region providing most of its manufacturing jobs. Furthermore, Helios intends to expand its economic base by means attracting companies that focus on their growth. In my opinion, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First of all, it is not explained about business opportunities and locations on which corporations should focus on by the author’s opinion. Today in technologically developing world there are many of business opportunities which company might choose starting from their own strategy and vision of their future. And it cannot be denied that what one company could assess as an opportunity for another it would be misfortune. If the author had denoted what he means by business opportunities and signified for which corporations Helios would be beneficial then it would have been more clear.

Second, lower than average unemployment rate might be evaluated as an insufficient factor for corporations. Because it means that new corporations which want to launch their business in this region face with lack of potential workers. It means companies have to recruit the employees outside the city spending on this program additional capital. The argument could have been much clear if the author had provided justification of unemployment advantages for companies.

Finally, it is not precisely drawn a parallel between companies which is attracted by Helios and companies which should focus on this city. The memo said that Helios wants to boost its economic base through attracting companies that develop their innovative technologies. While the author proposes to focus on this region for companies which seek new business opportunities. Which might doesn’t mean that these companies attend to technology innovation in their business.

In conclusion, the argument is weak because of above mentioned reasons and is therefore flawed. It could be considerably strengthened if the author mentioned all of the relevant facts. In order to estimate the validity of an argument it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors. Without this information, the argument is unsubstantiated and open to debate.