Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Nowadays the lack of knowledge among people are being apprehension for many states. There seem to be two main causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here.

Possibly the main cause is difficulty living including poverty which does not allow to receive education that trigger illiteracy in society. Examples can be seen in many regions such as Africa or Southeast Asia where children are not being able to read or make simplest calculation and these inabilities are result of deficiency in literacy. A further well-known cause which exists in more developed countries is a lack of stimulation study at school and university. A reluctance of learning something new from educational institution leads to unawareness and as a result to illiteracy of population.

The effects of this problem on people and society can be quite serious. Firstly, without knowledge people can not receive a well-paid job and it can trigger increase in criminal and exacerbate quality of life in country. A further widely-observed impact is lack of high quality of workers frames, which can be seen in countries such as Indonesia or Cameron. In these cases economy of these countries are undermined and become weaker. Finally, according scientific researches illiteracy of population in states bring about unhappiness to people and unconsciousness of life.

Overall, inaction of government to prevent complication of life in some regions of the world and unwilling of people to gather a knowledge seem to be the main causes, and without taking actions human beings can be damaged of these impacts.