A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The worth of a person in the society has changed over the years due to the shift in values. A higher degree of attention is paid on one's social reputation and how valuable of what we own in the modern city compared to virtues. I agree with this opinion to a large extent with the reasons of the rise of consumerism and celebrity worship.

To begin with, living in a consumer driven community is the main cause that contributes to the prevalence of judging others by what they have. The higher living standard enables people to afford buying high-valued goods or even luxurious handbags and designer's branded clothes. they are taken as a symbol of social status which the more you own, the worthier you are. A good illustration of this is that Chinese in general prefer buying them for showing off and feel more privileged, thus, the spending on luxury retail market in China has surpassed all countries.

Meanwhile, celebrities' influence has brought conspicuous impacts. In the digital era, social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram allow them to spread their messages all over the world. Lavish lifestyles and perfect-matched outfits with good-looking bodies are what these key opinion leaders show to their followers online. To further elaborate on this, the public, especially the young generation will inevitably learn from their role models by posting similar contents and selfies in the exchange of 'likes' and encouraging comments from families and friends. Hence, it is believed that self-esteem of the majority of teenagers are boosted by getting compliments in the virtual world.

To conclude, there is no doubt that the value in judging one's worth has been differentiated from the past when people emphasize more on consumer products and follow the new social standards. Despite the fact that it is a sad truth, this phenomenon will gradually continue under the development of materialism and social media.