“Mental health experts have observed that symptoms of mental illness are less pronounced in many patients after group music-therapy sessions, and job openings in the music-therapy field have increased during the past year. Consequently, graduates from our degree program for music therapists should have no trouble finding good positions. To help improve the financial status of Omega University, we should, therefore, expand our music-therapy degree program by increasing its enrollment targets.”

The head of the music department claims that to improve the financial status of the university, the enrollment in the music department should be increased. To support his argument, the author presents the evidence of mental health expert's observation and the current job opening scenario of music-therapy graduate. Although the argument has few merits, because of lack of evidence, weak assumption and vague language makes the argument unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. Some of the flaws are as follows.

To begin with, the author assumes that the job opening for the music therapy graduates is increasing , and the future graduates will not have any problem in finding jobs after graduation in Music-therapy. This assumption is deeply flawed. The author has not shown any data of employment. For example, 5 graduates out of 50 got job last year, but 8 graduates out of 50 get job this year. Even though there is an increase in job appointment, but most of the graduate still unemployed.

Secondly, the authors present the evidence of mental health expert to support his argument. However, this evidence is deeply flawed as there is no direct link with increase in job. As per the expert, the mental illnesses are less pronounced in many patients after music therapy treatment. But, expert has not mentioned any direct link with the increase in job in the field of music therapy.

Lastly, the author claims that the increase in enrollment target will improve the financial status of the university. However, financial status of the university depends on various other factors such as infrastructure, availability of adequate faculty, funding other sources etc. But, author fails to offer any evidence how enrollment in this department will help the university to gain financial boost.

Though the author, as written, categorically presents an interesting, but flawed argument. The argument can be made stronger if author provides data on job increment every year, how expert's observation changes the market demand, and if increase in enrollment is the only option for the university to gain financial status. Without these information, the argument is less persuasive.

To conclude, although the author has put forward an interesting argument, but a flawed one due to the flaws mentioned above. The argument can be made stronger had the author mentioned the data as mentioned in the essay above. Otherwise, this argument has no legs to stand and remains unconvincing.