Today more and more old cities are being rebuilt and redesigned in order to be modernized. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give your opinion and example.

In the modern rapid-changing world, we are not just concerned about the modernization of our gadgets, vehicles or apparel but also the cities we live in. In order to provide more advanced amenities to the citizens, governments can restructure the urban areas but it is not an easy task to do. There are many disadvantages associated with these developments. This essay shall delve into the pros and cons of such developments.

In early 2000, Indian capital Delhi was suffering from its ages-old transportation system which was a big hurdle in the overall development of the capital region. To solve the issue, the Indian government has decided to introduce the metro rail in its capital city Delhi. Surprisingly, Metro proved to become the revolutionary step towards making Delhi a smarter city to live in. It not only made the traveling within the city cheaper but also convenient and much more pleasant. Moreover, it curbed the problems of traffic and pollution in the city. Inhabitants can now commute from home to office and vice versa in much lesser time without facing undue traffic and extreme weather conditions. This development helped the city to generate more employment and contribute towards the gross domestic product of the country.

Talking about the negative side, in the process of installation of Metro lines, the Government had to arrange for the land from the general public in the various parts of the city. For that, they introduced a law relating to compulsory acquisition of land. People had to transfer their land to the state and that too at the rates decided by the state itself. It was somewhere unfair for the people because they had left with no choice except losing their valuable land at a trivial price due to the application of the law. Just like this, in each and every development in big cities, the general public had to suffer a lot.

To conclude, I can say that we had to pay a price for every development. Modernization of cities should be attempted for a brighter future but not at the cost of the general public.