Today prison is the most common solution for crime. But some people think that it would be a more effective way to provide them with better education to prevent them from becoming criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In most of the countries, the common way to deal with the crime is imprisonment, however, according to some persons, there other ways exists and one of the ways is to educate people and provide opportunities for better life. I believe that prison will continue to deter the crimes but quality education shall divert people from criminal activities.

On the one hand, prison is widely used way to control the crime across countries. In general, people who are threat to society should be kept away from general public. Some criminal are petty criminals and others are dangerous such as murderers, terrorist etc. These dangerous criminals can be harmful to society and nation as well so it is required to imprison them until it is proved that they can live with general public. For example, notorious international terrorist Abu Salem was nabbed by international police and sent to India for trails in court and awarded life imprisonment for killing innocent people. Such hardcore criminals can’t be handled through soft measures and confinement is the best option for them.

On the other hand, it is also known that people sometime perpetrate crime out of the circumstances or in self-defense. Not every murderer or thieves are dangerous or threat to society as sometime situation force people to take path which is not lawful and crime is committed, perhaps their intentions are not harmful for society. For instance, local mayor of my city is alleged for unlawful activities in initials days as he stole money for deposit his brother’s fee in school and later on he was also got admission in school and became lawful citizen. Various such kinds of cases can be found in our neighborhood and early sight of these cases and provide the financial help and education can prevent these people to become criminals.

To conclude, though modern thinkers start to believe that prison is not the effective solution for crime, I believe that hardcore criminal should be kept in prison. For other criminal who has minor offence history, may be provided a better education and financial help to include them in mainstream of society.