Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

On one hand urbanization in modern day cities is providing great living standards, while on the other hand, it is has been observed of late that quality of life in such cities is declining. The essay identifies socioeconomic and environmental problems as the prime suspect for the current situation, alongside describes possible solutions to overcome these challenges.

The fact cannot be denied that due to establishment and expansion of industries, a few cities offer wide range of job opportunities, thereby producing better standard of living as compared to towns and villages. No wonder these factors attract a lot of young population in search of work, which eventually leads to limited access to healthcare and education as well as unemployment. Also, over-crowded cities can be related with energy crisis resulting in frequent power cuts.

Strategic plan such as expanding the manufacturing plants to suburbs can be of help in managing challenges posed due to crowding and unequal income distribution. Besides the public transport network can be developed with the intent to have well connected routes from suburbs to metropolitan cities. For instance, Mumbai, a heavily crowded city, has local railway as it's life. The public transport effectively connects the nearby areas with the central city, thereby solving serious concerns associated with pollution and frequent traffic congestion.

Living conditions delivered by well developed cities are appealing to a vast majority of working professionals from across the country. Consequently, over-crowding and energy crisis is bound to happen, however, the problems can be fixed by connecting less developed cities or areas with fully developed cities. In addition to, improving the public transport system, a few of the production sites can be expanded to such cities as well.