Today the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

The fact cannot be denied that, urbanization in cities attracts people from all walks of life. On one hand, metropolis offers better living standards as compared to towns and villages, while on the other hand, it is observed that the quality of life in these cities is deteriorating. This essay describes the reasons associated with the origin of these issues and their possible solutions.

The plethora of job opportunities offered by the urban developments allures the working professionals and businessmen from across the country thereby making these cities overpopulated. This leads to the generation of socioeconomic problems such as increased housing cost and constrained access to education and healthcare facilities. In addition to this, overcrowding results in energy and resource crisis, henceforth, impacting the quality of life. Not only this, higher number of footfall, also leads to frequent traffic congestion in the city.

These bottlenecks can be managed by implementing sustainable solutions, with focus towards improving the modes of transportation and widening the scope of capital funding. Public transport network should be developed and the concept of car-pooling should be encouraged, as this will reduce the number and frequency of traffic jams. Additionally, it will lower down the incidence of asthma and other breathing related ailments. Last but not the least, these options will enable better management of natural resources and manpower in metropolitan areas.

To conclude, although, urban development boosts the living standards, however, the fact cannot be neglected that it brings forth civic issues. These obstacles can be overcome by diversification of industrial investments and strengthening the urban transportation services.