Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, people in our society have encouraged women to participate in each and every sector. Undoubtedly, it is a superb idea to empower women. However, I do not accord with the notion to reserve equal seats for male and female students, and I will stand my reasons in further paragraphs.

Earlier, society was male dominated as a result women were deprived from most of the basic facilities such as primary schooling, which eventually stopped them to progress in every fields. However, with time, society has matured and understand the contribution of women, and people have started giving opportunities to females, as a result standard of the society has improved. For instance, females are leading many organisation as CEOs and MDs, pursuing professional courses like medical, engineering. By motivating female to stand side-by-side in every field helps the nation, in broad sense, to grow their economy, because potential of workforce of the nation has increased by 50% if it allows females to get education.

However, 50% reservation for females in schools or university is not all an encouraging idea. What if, because of this reservation, a deserving male student may miss his opportunity to get admission in the university. It will be sheer injustice to this person. I believe, seats in educational institute should be given on merit basis. If all the female candidates have the capability to secure the all seats of university on merit basis, they should get enrolled. Reservation, in any form, is a termite for the society, so it should be banned in each sector, not just in education.

To sum up, although women empowerment is a need for the society, it does not necessary to give reservation to females in education institutions. Instead, society should motivate and encourage girls to participate in every event, that are done by men. Mentally male and females are equal, it is just a matter of opportunity and proper guidance.