Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters?

It is argued that humanitarian aid should be given to developing countries during natural catastrophe by developed countries. Due to drastic change in climate, the frequency of natural disasters like earthquake, cyclones, tsunami etc. increased. Developed countries can support other countries which are poor by providing financial support as well as help in implementing awareness programs for disaster recovery. This write up endeavors to highlight that rich nation help can result in faster and easy recovery from the catastrophes in the under developed countries.

Foremost, the rich countries can support in reducing the poverty by giving financial aids which will help in saving life in addition to facilitate the population with basic necessities of living i.e. food, cloth and shelter. In the affected areas, helicopter assistance and rescue operation implementation will be faster if concerned department has proper funds to spend. For instance, in the year 2018, Gulf countries helped Indian government by providing financial aids for the recovery of Kerala state which was fully destroyed by cyclone and floods.

Secondly, rich nations have strong disaster recovery plans which can be easily implemented in all high risk areas of nation. These programs help in reducing the economic loss at the time of calamities as we all save many lives’. The irony is that those countries that have contributed least to climate change, are the ones that are being hit the hardest in terms of loss of life from disasters. In African nations, UN disaster Recovery department undergo a plan to construct earthquake prone houses for the poor people to live safely.

In conclusion, with the support of high-income countries human life can be saved at the time of natural calamities. The relief funds and proper recovery planning in advance can limit the loss during disasters.