Wedding are bigger and more expensive in many others at present than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Modern wedding celebration are becoming more expensive and spacious than previous generations. In my opinion this is happening due to more economic disponibilities and is creating much concern about expenditures.

Rise of standards is one of the main reasons why some countries can afford to pay more for their weddings. Most couples who have a handle on a wedding budget feel “somewhat comfortable”. Society has managed to create some majorly unrealistic expectations when it comes to weddings. Being the norm, weddings can also come with social pressures that might influence how you spend. Couples feel pressure from family, friends, or even society to throw a lavish wedding.

How is it possible that someone can spend a lot of money on a single day? And how is it possible that everyone who thinks their wedding “doesn’t need to be that fancy” eventually spends more than they planned? Every little part of the wedding, from the venue to who you want videotaping everything is going to cost money. Many couples get into debt just to pay for their wedding. When it comes to the most common sources of funding, credit cards came second only to savings. According to statistics nearly one-quarter of couples are prepared to go into debt to pay for their wedding which they might regret in the near future. The fact is, you really don't have to dig so deep for a decent wedding experience, and the money saved can be put to better use, like for a down payment on your dream house or saving for junior's college education.

To encapsulate, nowadays people have more expandable income due to higher standards in some countries but in most cases this doesn't come without any cost.