Weddings are more expensive in many countries nowadays when compared to the past.

What is the reason behind this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present time, marriage ceremonies have become costlier as compared to the past. This essay will explain why this is a negative development, followed by highlighting factors behind this tendency in the upcoming paragraphs.

There is a myriad of reasons behind lavishing weddings. Firstly, with the advancements in urban centers, people are left with a very small place at home for gatherings. Therefore, weddings nowadays are celebrated in marquees that are booked for a few hours against a hefty amount. Secondly, people have a lot of money at their disposal as compared to the past era. So, weddings have become a status symbol for people as a result a huge chunk of money is spent on orchestra and decoration to make wedding worth remembering and more attractive for guests to stand out of others. Hence, all the above-mentioned factors increase the overall expense of the event.

However, I believe it to be a negative development because people often land in debt to meet the standards of desired wedding criteria set by others. As many people take a loan from banks to arrange their lavish wedding which often creates trouble for the newly married couple. For illustration, people who borrow money face tremendous pressure for years in terms of repaying the loan. Additionally, this pressure often leads to stress and anxiety which affect relationships and adverse health effects as well. Due to long term installment plan conflict arises between couples and often leads to divorce. Thus, all these factors make this a negative development.

To sum up, an increase in people's wealth along with the desire to impress people is the major cause of expensive weddings. However, this practice begets a lot of health and social hazards which make it an unwelcoming development.