What are the advantages and disadvantages of maternity leave? Which side do you feel outweighs the other?

Maternity benefits are necessary for working women to balance their career and family. Thus, it is a discussion topic among people that maternity leave has positive or negative impacts on the company. Before putting forward an opinion, it is essential to investigate both aspects of this argument.

Indeed, there are innumerable benefits of maternity leave because of that countries have the maternity law for the welfare of working women. Firstly, women can entirely focus to give childbirth and recuperate afterwards because women go through extreme physical and mental transition in the process. Secondly, it gives an opportunity to the company to keep useful workers. As we know, it is a big challenge for a company to hire a potential employee who replaces an existing efficient employee. For instance, in a Google survey, it is found that companies always prefer to have current company’s employees instead of hiring new employees because this requires significant efforts to train new workers and make efficient for the organisations. Thus, it is clear that maternity leave is beneficial for organisations and women both.

On the contrary side, small companies cannot afford maternity leave for an extended period to the business women since it will affect their benefits directly. As, they have limited funds to run their business, therefore, they have to invest the money carefully where they get direct benefits instantly. Paid leave is a considerable amount of money by which they are not getting any outcome immediately. Hence, per their business perspective, it is a tough situation for them to offer extended maternity leave.

In conclusion, although small firms have funds crisis, they should consider these leave as part of the business value. Therefore, I firmly believe that maternity leave is the fundamental right for all business women for the rehabilitation of mother and child. It is government and people duty to promote maternity leave to maintain the population of the world.