When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

Technological development is the buzzword for today’s world. The fact that traditional skills and local livelihood are on a fade in most countries due to this technological development, is a moot issue. Some among the mass, opine that measures to preserve these traditional and conventional methods are futile. In my view, though technology and its recent advancements portray the face of development in a country, efforts to promote conventional elements should be envisaged. Let us discourse the same below on a global perspective.

It is well known that in developed countries, traditional skills are on the verge of extinction. The introduction of new and vibrant technological gizmos has replaced obsolete tools and methods. To cite an example, one would seldom find manual labour and conventional methods involved in mixing concrete these days, after the introduction of mixture machine in construction sites. Unlike earlier times, when small-scale industries like cotton mills, hand weaving etc. formed the major part of livelihood and family income, today the whole scenario had undergone a sea change, online and corporate jobs occupying the list. Another special mention in this context would be the extinct public telephone booths, which flooded the streets across the world prior to the introduction of mobile phones and the internet.

Though the disappearance of these traditional skills and way of life are justifiable to an extent, efforts to promote the same should be encouraged. One reason to emphasise here is that most of these conventional methods reflected the local culture and custom nurtured. Moreover, the older generations for whom it would be cumbersome to cope up with the new changes should be allowed to practice or preach within their comfort zone.

Now given the situation, global efforts made by many NGOs and social activists to preserve traditional occupations and skills are well appreciated. Most of their autobiography mentions the complexity involved in the task, as the majority of the people turn away from the conventional approaches in the midst of technologically advanced and compact methods. the majority of these activists find success through repeated target oriented projects. The preservation of old age practice of fishing with cormorants practised in China would exemplify the same. One of the documentaries revealed that these fishermen are paid to practice these in order to keep alive the tradition. From the above discourse, I would like to conclude that, measures to safeguard the conventional skills and livelihoods of past are never pointless or futile however it should be appreciated and applauded worldwide.

Let the technology revolutionise!