When people move to another country, some of them decide to follow the customs of the new country. Others prefer to keep their own customs. Compare these two choices. Which one do you prefer?

Support your answer with specific details.

You should write at least 250 words.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Customs and traditions is a thread that binds the community together. It provides a sense of identity to people. It Is highly debated issue whether moving a different country, people should follow the traditions of the other country or their own values. In this essay we will discuss both the views, however in my opinion, I do believe that people when visiting different countries should pay respect to their values and traditions.

Certain individuals have this notion that when moving to a new nation should stick to their own traditions and customs as they are their identity. People who believe in religious values and customs should not change their behaviour when visiting other place as this will shake their own faith and personality. To elucidate, people who follow certain religion which prohibit them from eating cow meat, when they visit to the place where cow meat is include in every dish, those people should not change their religious belief accordingly and start eating cow meat.

However, I strongly agree that humans when visiting a new place should follow their beliefs and customs. There is a popular verbalisation to support the above statement that is In Rome do as the Romans do, in other words, when going to a new place follow their traditions. People should respect their customs and values and should not in any way harm their sentiments. Moreover, It helps people to have in-depth knowledge about their beliefs and will widen their understanding. By following their customs, they will have an emotional connect with the people of different country and thus will bridge the cultural and social gap thus, bringing all the nations together. To exemplify, In America is is considered rude and ill-mannered to ask someone their salary, so foreigners when visiting their country should not ask such questions as it will hurt their feelings.

To conclude, we have discussed both the views of following the customs of other nations and to follow one’s own traditions in different country. In my opinion, I vehemently agree that people when going to different place to highly regard and appreciate their values and should follow them as this will enable ion mutual understanding and building strong relations.