Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of

violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Justice and legal system are bedrocks of a harmonious society, without fear of consequences of actions, unprecedented growth of crime may occur. Harsh punishment such as capital punishment is necessary and justified in dreadful crimes. In absence of fear of gruesome punishment offenders would not fear while committing any heinous crime and other than justice would not be served to victims and their families leaving them dissatisfied. This essay shall discuss the vitality of harsh punishment such as capital punishment in controlling violence in society.

Punishment for severe crimes such as murder should be harsh, as it would serve as warning to general population that a heinous crime against society would be a punishable offence. Fear of consequences of actions is must for enforcing law and order. For instance, crime rates are comparatively lower than south Asian countries and this is due to the fact that law and order is strict among those countries, which make offenders think twice before acting.

Furthermore, serving perpetrators according to severity of crime committed will serve justice to victim and their families and is only justifiable. In the absence of such law, a wave of dissatisfaction may spread in population and they may lose trust in judiciary of country. Such chaos may provoke them to take law in their hands and hence spreading more violence. Lebanon is suffering from such deplorable condition where dissatisfied countrymen have revolted against government’s law and resulted in riots.

Opponents of this view state that serving capital punishment would not leave much space and chance for improvements for those who would want to change the path of their lives.

To sum up with, Capital punishment should be served to offenders who are guilty of committing heinous crimes. it would serve as warning to rest of population and would serve justice to victims