Working hours today are too long and people are not spending as much time as they should with their families or on leisure activities.

What is your opinion on this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The question of the long occupational day has been widely discussed in recent years. Nowadays we can see a very dismal tendency: an immense amount of people take on extra work to earn extra money to feed their families. Therefore, it makes them unable to spend time with their loved ones or carry out recreational activities. From my point of view, such statement is completely correct and I would like to explain why.

One of the main arguments against long working day is that long hours of work have a negative impact on the mental and physical health of workers such as an increase of stress, an accretion of cardiovascular diseases and the deterioration of family relationships among many other problems.

Secondly, many nations like Sweden and the Netherlands have experimented in the last decade with shortening the work-week which has yielded positive results on the productivity front. Moreover, a lot of people automatically think that reducing the work-hours to 30 hours per week will crash productivity, but there’s evidence that this is far from true.

All in all, despite the increasing working hours experienced by many people nowadays, which will cause less togetherness with families as well as the lack of leisure activities, is necessary to find a balance between work life and personal life. Therefore, people must also have some time for themselves to participate in recreational activities or spend time with their families.