In the world of internet, the people write about a product and its review as well as their opinions about the service. Is it a good or a bad thing?

Nowadays, there is no denying that the technology has eased the life of everyone in all the walks of life. One such area which has improved the way is of product research and it has its own benefits and flaws. I feel that is both good as well as a bad thing.

On the one hand, the technology has overhauled the way consumers shop in the modern world. The comfort of shopping online cannot be outnumbered by any other means. This trend has led to people post their purchases are leaving reviews which helps the prospective buyer to ascertain the value of the product and whether the product is worth their money or not. This has replaced the age-old practice of word of mouth buying. For example, in a study conducted by University of Melbourne where a group of shoppers were questioned about the confidence in buying a product which they hear from friends or the products which had a good review online about its viability and more than 79% respondents said that their decision for a product would be based on online reviews Thus, the product review help the consumers to reach to a decision.

On the other hand, the growing trend of people making blog posts about the products and their biased reviews are adding to the pile of thousands of posts in relation to a single product. This can be a daunting task for a consumer to look for all the blog posts in order to ascertain the actual review of the product. To cite an example, there are many Personal relations firm which is now buying the bloggers to write paid reviews for their products and all many social media influencers can be seen as branding their products without an iota of truth in their claims. Therefore, this makes it difficult for consumers to gather the actual reviews of the product which is, in turn, a bad thing.

In conclusion, there being no proper method to ascertain the truth behind the genuinity of the review. As such, it is better for the consumers to read about the products and then base their decision after seeing the product on the display. It will be a better alternate to try it out before one buys the product.