Write about the following topic:

Labour-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices only make them more difficult.

Does modern technology reduce or increase stress?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

This is the era of automation. The world is always looking for a convenient way of doing things in hopes of saving time, energy and doing them accurately. However, not everyone thinks the same. Some of the masses thinks of modern devices as a nuisance. They believe devices are a niusance since it is harder to operate them and they are detrimental to health.

To begin with, modern gadgets are the means to get things done easily and accurately. That is, there is little to no room for error in a machine operated task. However, if the same task is done by a human, there is always a chance of error. Furthermore, machines are efficient. The work that takes people hours to get done, can be completed in a matter of seconds. Text messages via online platforms is a prime example of this.

On the contrary, machines can prove to be quite a headache to some people as some machines are quite hard to operate. The elderly, for example, struggle sometimes while using a mobile phone or a computer. The culprit being the large number of options. At an elderly age, people's cognitive abilities start to deteriorate. Thus, it becomes quite cumbersome for such people to keep track of what a certain option does. As a result, instead of learning how to use this new device, they get their work done manually.

In addition, using devices like mobile phones for prolonged periods of time have adverse effects on health. First of all, exposure to radiation emitted through screens compromise the eyesight. Furthermore, spending too much time on online platforms can have psychological impact. Studies have also shown that those people who spend long time on social websites feel more insecure.

Although modern technology provide convenience but the impacts are far too great to be ignored. Life used to be much simpler and stress free before today's technology took over.